Service Workflow Steps In a Nutshell Workflow Steps allow you to activate and configure checkpoints or milestones for the mobile application in order to standardize processes and improve communications between back-office teams and field employees. Access The Service Workflow feature can be reached from Admin > Company > Service Workflow. All users with access to the Admin app can access this feature. Activity Stages vs Workflow Steps The Planning and Dispatching app uses the following execution stages: Stage Description IN PLANNING This execution stage indicates that the activity record has been created and is currently in the Activity List. IN DISPATCHING This execution stage indicates that the activity is currently on the Dispatching Board, but has not yet been released to the technician. IN EXECUTION This execution stage indicates that the activity has been released to the technician and can now be viewed and completed on the mobile application. CLOSED This execution stage indicates that the activity has been completed and closed by the assigned technician. Activities can also be closed for other reasons. CANCELLED This execution stage indicates that the activity has been cancelled. Service workflow steps occur in the IN EXECUTION activity execution stage. View Diagram A Closer Look Field Description Name The name of the workflow step. This name will display in the mobile application. Description A description of the workflow step. This is for internal use only and does not display in the mobile application. Next Steps By clicking the EDIT button and clicking the dropdown, you can select which workflow steps will follow afterward. ↑ By clicking the upward arrow, you will change the position of the workflow step and make it occur earlier in the service workflow cycle. ↓ By clicking the downward arrow, you will change the position of the workflow step and make it occur later in the service workflow cycle. ¯ By clicking the minus sign, the workflow step will be removed from the service workflow cycle. + By clicking the plus sign, a new workflow step will be added to the service workflow cycle. In order for the step to be valid, it must follow another service workflow step. Next Steps The Next Steps field can be used to determine which steps can and will occur after a given workflow step. By selecting the dropdown, you can then select which available workflow steps will occur afterward: Note: The order in which the next step is selected will be reflected in the series list displayed in the dropdown. Service Workflow Step Both standard and custom workflow include an edit () button. By selecting, this option, the application will display the following: Service Workflow Step Settings Color and Icon Service Workflow Step Field Description Name The name of the workflow step. This name will display in the mobile application. Description The internal-only description of the workflow step. Screen Type The type of screen on which the workflow step appears. Options include NoneSmart formSummary screenTravelWork items Next Steps The next steps which follow the workflow step. Main Next Step The next major milestone step in the company service workflow. Alternative Next Step The alternative step which may occur in the company service workflow. Settings Field Description Person Status The required status of the person when the workflow step occurs. For example, an Accepted status would likely include an Available person status. Acceptance Criteria Text entry field. Here you can enter the text will be displayed in the application and prompt the technician to confirm before continuing to the next service workflow step. Recording If applicable, the recording input the technician should input upon completing the service workflow step. Options include: Mileage, None (default), Time Effort, and Work Time. For example, a Travel service workflow step might include a Mileage recording type. Work Finished By selecting this option on the selected workflow step, the application will stop calculating the work time after the service workflow step is completed. This is recommended for the Finished service workflow step. Checkout Workflow Step Settings ATTENTION: Checkout settings are currently ONLY available for the Android app. Support for iOS and Windows applications are planned for a later release. The following settings are available for the Checkout service workflow step: Setting Description Preview Report When enabled, a report preview will be generated when the checkout event occurs. Report Templates If applicable, select the report templates associated with the checkout. Ask for Customer Signature When enabled, the application will prompt the technician to have the customer sign the report. Color and Icon In this section, you can set the service workflow step color and associate the step with an icon. Field Description Color Color picker. Here you can select the color to be associated with the selected workflow step. Icon Here you can select the icon to be associated with the selected workflow step. This dropdown includes a search bar. Integrated Checkout In order to operate the integrated checkout feature in the Android and iOS mobile apps, you must complete the following: Enable Company Setting Attention In order to complete this step, you must have ADMIN rights for the Admin app. Navigate to Admin > Company > Select your Company > Settings and select the CoreSystems.Assignment.IsWorkflowDriven setting. In the Value field, set the setting to TRUE. By setting to TRUE the mobile application will display new buttons for navigating to next workflow steps in the bottom of the activity details screen. Enable Permissions Next, you will need to ensure that the user group that will be using the Integrated Checkout feature have the necessary permissions to use it. These permissions are managed in the User Groups screen in the Admin app. The following business objects need both READ and UPDATE permissions: Activity ServiceAssignment ServiceAssignmentStatus And the following business object needs READ permissions for ALL: ServiceAssignmentStatusDefinition The type of checkout workflow that is assigned to a specific field user is determined by the UI permissions for ServiceCheckout: Standard Checkout Setting Checked / Unchecked GROUP_CHECKOUT_ALLOWED Unchecked CHECKOUT_WITHOUT_REPORT_ENABLED Unchecked Group Checkout Setting Checked / Unchecked GROUP_CHECKOUT_ALLOWED Checked CHECKOUT_WITHOUT_REPORT_ENABLED Checked or unchecked Finish Work (as part of group checkout) Setting Checked / Unchecked GROUP_CHECKOUT_ALLOWED Unchecked CHECKOUT_WITHOUT_REPORT_ENABLED Checked Deprecated Settings Note: The following UI settings are no longer relevant in the integrated checkout and ignored. Those are only relevant for the legacy checkout screens not integrated with the workflow steps. CHECKOUT_WITHOUT_REPORT_DEFAULT ENABLED_CHECKOUT_WITHOUT_CLOSING Configure Checkout Workflow Step As the last step, you will need to add the “Checkout” workflow step as the next step. This is done by navigating to Admin > Companies > Service Workflow. You can then select the default workflow and select the Edit option. Next, you need to select closed as the step which follows checkout. This is done to ensure that the activity is always closed after completing a checkout. A completed service workflow configuration will then appear as follows: After Saving, the Integrated Checkout feature will now be ready to use. Next Steps For more information on how to operate the Integrated Checkout feature from the iOS or Android app, refer to the following guide.